Skip to Content

Honorary Members

Honorary Members

SMRC is a club that looks forward but also pays homage and respect to great names from the past. Since 1964 there have only been 4 Honorary Presidents of the Club and these are Jim Clark, until his untimely death in 1968, Jackie Stewart who succeeded him and served 37 years in the post, Allan McNish who took over from Jackie and the current incumbent, Hugh McCaig who took over from Allan in 2018.

We currently have 12 Honorary Members who have served the Club over many years, indeed in the case of Ian Scott Watson and Graham Gauld, since the very start of its current iteration in 1964.

Sir Jackie Stewart OBE
Honorary Member

Originally from Dumbarton he was Formula 1 World Champion in 1969, 1971 and 1973 and retired in 1973 having won 27 Grand Prix in 99 starts. Seen as the man who started the ball rolling to improve safety in the sport after so many of his colleagues died in the 60’s and 70’s whilst racing on unsafe circuits. Recognised by many as the ultimate ambassador for motor racing and still regularly attends F1 races. Took over as President after the death of Jim Clark and remained so until 2007 and donated a number of Stewart Medals to be presented to Club members for ‘Services to Scottish Motorsport’.

Dario Franchitti MBE
Honorary Member

Born in Bathgate he won the Indy Car Championship in the US 4 times and is also a 3 time winner of the famous Indy 500. He had to retire in 2013 after a serious accident in Houston left him with damaged vertebrae and concussion but fortunately he has made a full recovery. Has also kept his involvement in the sport by becoming the voice of Formula E as a commentator and has been able to return to competition in Historic Racing and competed at Goodwood in 2020.

Allan McNish
Honorary Member

From Dumfries he is a 3 time winner of the Le Mans 24 Hours and drove for Toyota in 2001 when they entered Formula 1. Drove for Audi in sports cars for 13 years before retiring in 2013 after a hugely successful career and becoming the World Endurance Champion in his final year with teammates Tom Kristensen and Loic Duval. In 2015 became Team Principal of the new Audi Formula E team. Took over from Sir Jackie Stewart as President in 2007 and served for 10 years. Has supplemented his involvement in the sport with contributions as a TV and radio commentator.

David Coulthard MBE
Honorary Member

Also from Dumfries he raced for 15 seasons in Formula 1 for Williams, McLaren and Red Bull, taking 13 victories and 62 podiums in 247 races and also finished runner up to Michael Schumacher in the World Championship in 2001. Retired from Formula 1 in 2008 but went on to have 3 years racing in the DTM in Germany. Now has a successful business career running a film production company and another organising product launches and presentations in motorsport. Also works as a media pundit and TV commentator with Channel 4.

John Cleland
Honorary Member

A quiet unassuming character who earned a living taking part in a sport he loved while continuing to run the family Vauxhall car dealership with his father. First raced at Ingliston in a Mini, finishing 4th in his first race in August 1972. He then moved in to rallying for a couple of years and eventually progressed to racing Production Saloons in 1980 before getting his break with Vauxhall in Thundersaloons in 1985. This proved the grounding for him to become a works driver in a Vauxhall Astra and he won the BTCC in 1989 at his very first attempt. Went on to drive for the company for the next 10 years and won the Championship again in 1995 at the height of the Super Touring era. Also raced at Bathurst in Australia for 10 years finishing 2nd in 2001. Still runs the family Volvo dealership in Galashiels along with his two sons.

Paul Di Resta
Honorary Member

Another racer born in Bathgate who won the European Formula 3 Championship in 2006 backed by Mercedes and then had an extended career in DTM winning the championship in 2010. As a Mercedes contracted driver he went on to Formula 1 with Force India from 2011-13 racing in 59 Grand Prix with a best result of 4th in 2013. Now races in the World Endurance Championship with United Autosports but in 2022 will join Peugeot when they return to the Championship. Like the other three Scots from his era in racing he has forged a secondary Occupation as a commentator and provides a technical insight for viewers on Sky Sports F1.

Hugh McCaig
Honorary Member

Passionate about motor racing Hugh has been on the Committee for the majority of last 35 years and is a Past Chairman of the Club. He gave financial support to ensure the survival of Ingliston in 1982 and has supported many young drivers as the Patron of Ecurie Ecosse, the famous Edinburgh based racing team. Took the team to Le Mans in 1986 as privateers and went back the following year and finished 7th overall which was a remarkable achievement. Still involved as just the fourth person to fill the post of Honorary President of SMRC.

Graham Gauld
Honorary Member

Now motor racing historian and writer who worked in journalism in his younger days as motoring correspondent for the Edinburgh Evening News and spent a lot of time travelling to racing in the 50's and 60's with Jim Clark and lan Scott Watson, Became a director of Scotcircuits along with Hugh McCaig when they took over the running of Ingliston in 1982. Served on the Committee for 30 odd years is still working and living in the south of France.

Ian Scott Watson
Honorary Member

Born in 1930, lan is the Borders farmer who mentored the great Jim Clark and made him understand that he was a far better driver than he realised. Ironically he won the Jim Clark Memorial Award as recognition from the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers on the 50th anniversary of Jim Clark's untimely death for all that he had done. He was one of the leading lights in the Border Motor Racing Club, the forerunner of the SMRC and was heavily involved in the discussions to start racing at Ingliston.

Bernard Buss
Honorary Member

Director of Fleming Homes in Duns, sponsors of Doug Niven back in the 1970's, who has been on the Club Committee since 1989 and served as Chairman, Competition Secretary and Treasurer over the years.

Sandy Denham
Honorary Member

Been on the Committee for nearly 30 years and Chairman from 2018 to 2020 and was made an Honorary Member on his retirement. Led the changes to the purpose of the Club and was instrumental in moving it onto a more modern business standing in difficult times. Is currently the Scottish representative on the Motorsport UK National Council and has a passion for Formula 1 and its history as well as a love for racing car models, mostly in 1/43 scale.

Michael How
Honorary Member

Elected to the SMRC Board in 1981 and served 2 years as Chairman in 1999 & 2000 and still doing what I can to help. Mike also organised the Club’s Annual Awards Presentation, trophies and engraving for most of the last 25 years and currently cataloguing and archiving the Graham Gauld Collection of Ingliston photos from 1965 to 1994.


Reap the benefits of an SMRC Membership


Discover the amazing history of the SMRC
Read Now


Get your SMRC branded gear here
Shop Now


Check out the SMRC YouTube Channel
Watch Now