Scottish Legends Car Championship

Back to November 2018
David Hunter - Champion
David Newall - 3rd

In 2018 the total scores from a driver’s top 8 of 9 rounds decided the championship. In 2017 the Championship went to the final meeting, and was won by John Paterson. In 2018 we had a repeat of this with the title being decided at the final meeting, but this time we had a new Champion.

September’s reverse direction track saw David Hunter win heat 1 from Jordan Hodgson and Ryan McLeish. Then Duncan Vincent took two good wins, these were his first and second of the season. David Hunter was 2nd and Ryan McLeish 3rd in heat 2. Duncan’s drive in the final was impressive. The Knockhill commentator started 16th in a 18 car grid, and then led the race by lap 6. He passed long time leader Mark Beaty as they raced down the hill to the hairpin. Earlier Ivor Greenwood spun out of 3rd on lap 3 at Macintyres, then stopped and retired. Beaty finished a career high 2nd with David Newall only two tenths of a second back in 3rd having started 11th and run 3rd from mid race. Michael Paxton took a good 4th as Championship leader Hunter got home 7th.

Championship update after September – Anyone of five drivers could win their first Scottish Championship as we went into October’s races. David Hunter led the chase, but all drivers could drop their worst round score. Plus the maximum score available was 200 points per race, giving a possible 600 points in October. Dropped score total in brackets after September. David Hunter 3835 (3480) 2. Ryan McLeish 3525 (3330) 3. Ivor Greenwood 3415 (3180) 4. Jordan Hodgson 3475 (3180) 5. Dave Newall 3370 (3055) So it was calculators at the ready for October.

October ‘s races were on a wet track. Heat 1 Dave Newall won from Steven McGill , Jordan Hodgson and David Hunter as 16 cars raced. Heat 2 Dave Newall took another win this time from veteran Ivor Greenwood, Duncan Vincent and David Hunter. In the final It was a hat trick of wins for Dave Newall, as he beat Duncan Vincent by 3 seconds. Newall started 11th and was leading b lap 4. He passed early leader McLeish who then held off Vincent for 3 laps before Duncan dived past at Duffus. Ryan McLeish was 3rd but another solid 4th was enough for David Hunter who was 5th for a while pressing Jordan Hodgson, before Hodgson spun off at MacIntyres on lap 9.

So David Hunter claimed his first Legends Cars title, with Ryan McLeish and Dave Newall 2nd and 3rd overall. Hunter said he had not slept well and had been nervous, but that didn’t show on track.
Legends Cars Champion David Hunter

Ryan McLeish - Runner-up
Jon Critchlow - Newcomer Champion