Latest SMRC News

Back to January 2019

SMRC 2019 Race Calendar (Provisional)

Knockhill race dates see 6 SMRC meetings, which have been published on the club website. Four will be the standard clockwise direction and two meetings as in 2018, will be run in the anti clockwise direction.

Knockhill

7th April

5th May (anti clockwise)

23rd June

20th / 21st July (1 ½ day meeting plus British Superkart Championship)

1st September (anti clockwise) plus Formula Junior single seaters

6th October

Away rounds

25th May (Saturday) Mini Cooper Cup, Hot Hatch / Fiesta Championship plus Mini Cooper S’s are all going to Kirkistown, N Ireland

25/26 May Scottish Legends Cars are racing at Anglesey

17/18 August Scottish Classics have a grid share with DDMC / NSSCC at Croft, for the ‘Battle of Britain’ meeting

There are no away rounds for Saloon & Sports, Formula Ford or C1 Cup.

 

Championship News

New drivers Championship Representatives have been announced:

Celtic Speed Scottish Mini Cooper Cup
Malcolm McNab – minis@smrc.co.uk

Scottish C1 Cup
John Duncan – c1cup@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Classics Sports and Saloons 
Jimmy Crow – classics@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Fiesta & Hot Hatch Championship 
Hamish Smart – fiestas@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Formula Ford 1600 Championship
Neil Broome – formulaford@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Legends Cars Championship
Andrew Donald – legends@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Mini Cooper S Cup
Paul Wilson – r53@smrc.co.uk

Scottish Saloons and Sports Car Championship
Andrew Paterson – sports.saloons@smrc.co.uk

 

Scottish Motorsport Open Day

The club ran a Go Motor Racing Day at Knockhill on 20th January, while the circuit ran a track day.
Passenger rides were available, and club personnel were on hand to provide information and advice to those
interested in motorsport.

Rory Bryant and Mike How deal with an inquiry’

Citroen C1s on track giving passenger rides

Neil Broome about to go out in a Westfield for more passenger rides

Signing on in the paddock

 

Wheelspin Editor Kevin Pick (Tel, txt, Whats App, 0784 687 3241)

Photographs of SMRC Dinner and Awards, plus Kenny Allen racing  – Jim Moir (Tel 0131 552 8817)

SMRC Chairman Sandy Denham

Steve Burns SMRC Competitions Director steve.burns@smrc.co.uk

Rory Bryant, SMRC Business Development Manager rory.bryant@smrc.co.uk