Fiesta ST Cup 2017

Back to March 2018

The ST Cup is for newer 2 litre cars made from 2002–2008. ST’s took every pole and won all 16 races on the road. They provided good racing all year, and the average number of drivers per race was up from 6 to 7, whilst the overall number of drivers racing ST’s was more than in 2014, 2015 or 2016 being up to 18. This saw 10 drivers score points (one down on 2016 and 2015) and 8 enter as guests, as hire cars helped numbers.

The cars are still out there and if you look at what happened in Ireland – where they launched STs last year with well over a dozen cars – they can still be built, especially as the regulations have been relaxed, so cheaper suspension parts can be used.

In 2016 the defending double champion Wayne Macaulay lost out after a season long battle to Kevin Whyte, who was runner up in 2015. But new Champion Whyte didn’t race in 2017, so Macaulay wrapped up his 3rd ST title in 4 years. He won 12 of the 16 rounds, including the first 6 rounds, as he held off the impressive Barry Farquharson, who was in his first season of STs.

Barry was runner up and wasn’t out of the top 3 in the 14 rounds he contested, with 2 outright wins and ten 2nds in his scores. Barry took maximum points 3 times, though one of those was in a strange race, were two guests were 1st and 2nd. They were former XR2 Champions Jim Deans and Stephen Gray. These two battled at the front, with Stephen winning from Jim, while others retired or limped home in round 15. Another impressive guest was Mini Cooper race winner Kyle Reid who had two close 2nds behind Wayne Macaulay in rounds 13 and 14.

Veteran racer and former XR2 Champion Peter Cruickshank can still pedal a car, he was 3rd overall (his best result since he was runner up in 2104), and Peter broke Wayne’s winning run, by taking victory in round 7 at Oulton Park, a track Peter loves. Peter had 4 dnfs, but one win, three 2nds and six 3rds were also in his scores.

Nicolas Forsyth was 4th and started 14 rounds, with four 4th places as his best scores. He diced with Stephen Ward who was 5th overall despite missing 8 rounds, though Stephen had three 3rds mid season. Philip Liddle was 6th with 8 rounds contested and one 3rd his top finish. Others who scored were Russell Morgan, Aiden Ward, Paul Curtis (who had two 3rds in his 2 races) and Reis Robertson. Christian Leith also did 2 rounds as a guest, as did 2016 XR2 racer Gordon Haston.

Of the top 6 finishers in the XR2 championship in 2016, four drivers (Deans, Gray, Farquharson, Haston) moved up to STs for 2017.

2017 points: 1. Wayne Macaulay (360) 2. Barry Farquharson (291) 3. Peter Cruickshank (209)