Every year the SMRC present a collection of ‘special trophies’ at the Awards Dinner, to recognise a range of special achievements and successes within the sport.

Ahead of this Saturday’s Awards night, we take a look at the special awards that will be presented, their history and what they’re for. Remember, these awards are kept secret with the winners announced on the night.


Claire & Nicholas Trophy

Awarded to a marshal for service to the Club

Previous winners: Jackie Spencer, Jim Redpath


Duncan Fisher Trophy

Person working behind the scenes. Seen by few but appreciated by many.

Previous winners: Graham Brunton, Jim Moir


SMRC Special Award

Special contribution to the sport in Scotland

Previous winners: Tommy Dreelan, Rory Butcher


SMRC Driver of the Year

Best driver racing with SMRC, voted by the marshals

Previous winners: Aiden Moffat, Hannah Chapman



The champion of champions; a driver who has dominated and mastered their given Scottish championship.

Previous winners: Jim Clark, David Leslie


Edinburgh Students Charities Quaich

Top lady driver racing with SMRC

Previous winners: Jillian Shedden, Carol Brown


Sheila Whyte Trophy

Most promising young Scottish driver

Previous winners: Gordon Shedden, Aiden Moffat


Ecurie Ecosse Hub Cap

Top young Scottish driver in any championship (selected by Hugh McCaig Patron of Ecurie Ecosse)

Previous winners: D Coulthard, A McNish, Seb Melrose


 Rothmans Trophy

Top Scottish driver in a UK Championship

Previous winners: Gordon Shedden, Colin Noble jnr


 William Lyons Trophy

Top performance by a scot in a sports car

Previous winners: Ryan Dalziel, Allan McNish, Marino Franchitti


Callands Trophy

Best international performance by a Scot

Previous winners: David Coulthard, Dario Franchitti, Paul Di Resta


John Romanes ‘Swift’ Trophy

Excellence by a Scot in motor racing

Previous winners: David Coulthard, Dario Franchitti, Jonny Adam, Alan McNish